My 5 Personal Influences

18 Oct

1)      Pop art

2)      Camden

3)      Shannon Hourigan

4)      Magazines

5)       fashion

Pop Art

 

“Pop art is an art movement that emerged in the mid-1950s in Britain and in the late 1950s in the United States Pop art challenged tradition by asserting that an artist’s use of the mass-produced visual commodities of popular culture is contiguous with the perspective of fine art.” Pop art is always bright and exciting, never dull. I love all the cartoon style work and a good example of this is Andy Warhol’s work. He takes everyday photographs and images and makes them his own style by filling them with lots of color and transforms them.

 

My work that was influenced by pop art: 

 

Camden

 

Camden is a great place to go for influence; it’s a beautiful place to photograph as it’s colorful and full of life. Camden market sells lots of exciting art work mainly by the graffiti artist Banksy. I love how his work is simple but the ideas behind it are very strong and influential.

This is a photograph I took in Camden. It’s just outside of the main Camden high-street. I love the scenery as it’s peaceful and relaxing.

 

 

Shannon Hourigan

 

 

 

 

Magazines

 

Magazines are a big influence in my life, the main reason is the fashion but I also love the look of them. I love looking at the different styles layout, typography, color choice, designs etc. In the future I would love to be able to one day work for a magazine company and be able to produce high quality magazines that everyone will read and love. When I look at the models in the magazines I read I know most, if not all the models have been photoshoped and air brushed, although this can be seen as fake i don’t think enhancing the natural look is wrong. As a photoshop fan I would love the job of working with models either photographing them or using airbrush on the original image to enhance their look.

 

 

Fashion

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

